Skip to main content


Congratulations to the newest NASA Astronaut Graduates!

Today, a group of thirteen individuals will become the newest NASA Astronauts. Seven males and six females are the up and coming class to graduate from astronaut basic training today. The graduation ceremony will be live on NASA’s website at 10:30am EST.

Image courtesy NASA

NASA Astronaut GraduatesKayla Barron, Zena Cardman, Raja Chari, Matthew Dominick, Bob Hines, Warren Hoburg, Dr. Jonny Kim, Jasmin Moghbeli, Loral O’Hara, Dr. Frank Rubio, and Jessica Watkins are all from the United States. Joshua Kutryk and Jennifer Sidey-Gibbons are astronaut candidates from the Canadian Space Agency.

The graduates come from a diverse set of career fields and completed two years of multi-disciplinary training, this group is the first set of astronauts to graduate into the Artemis program and is expected to help us return to the moon and beyond.

Among the new field of astronauts are two Space Camp Alumni, both Bob Hines and Jasmin Moghbeli attended Space Camp programs in their youth. Bob Hines attributes Space Camp to “fanning the flame” of his interest in space exploration, and went on to Air Force Officer Training School. While Jasmin Moghbeli knew she wanted to fly when she attended Advanced Space Academy, and went on to become a pilot from the U.S. Navy Test Pilot School.

We congratulate all of the graduates on completing the astronaut training program and look forward to following their exploration in the future!


Meet your 2020 Space Camp Alumni Association Board

There is lots of celebrating ahead! In 2020, the U.S. Space & Rocket Center is celebrating its 50th birthday, it is the 30th anniversary of Aviation Challenge, and the Space […]

Right Stuff Award Winner: Stan Taylor

Written by Chad Driver, Space Camp Alumni Association Board Member The allies had just emerged victorious from WWII. These were the days of Operation Paperclip, when Von Braun’s team set […]